· 

Dealing with rejection and praise of Man

A Warm welcome to April’s Blog, I am excited to present to you this month’s instalment into your library bank of books to read “Dealing with the rejection and Praise of man” by Bob Sorge. Don’t forget to hit the comments button at the end of the blog.

Aperitif

Psalm 103

Bless the LORD Oh my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name!

ESV Bible

 

 

When I began to read this month’s book, ‘the rejection and praise of man’, I started to think what a refreshing and humorous introduction. It certainly rang many bells with me. Mr Sorge presents an hilarious letter from a Postgraduate ( who had been faced with so many rejections from various employers) rejecting a rejection letter he had received from an employer informing them that he will be starting work after the holidays. I wish I was as bold as this candidate, but if many of you recall my story, I struggled with my faith during my college years and didn’t accept my call until much later on in life. You see I was, and still am a Postgraduate. I remember keeping a large lever Arch file at my parent’s home. In it were 100s of the many rejection letters of trying to find employment after leaving school.

 

Starters

Psalm 34

I will bless the LORD at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul makes its boast in the LORD; let the humble hear and be glad. Oh, magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his names together!

ESV Bible

 

When examining rejection in the bible, Mr Sorge uses three Patriarchs, Jeremiah, Job and David. Jeremiah the prophet of rejection. Jeremiah was rejected so much that everyone hated him Jer15:10 Woe is me, my mother, that you bore me, a man of strife and contention to the whole land I have not lent, nor have I borrowed, yet all of them curse me. Jeremiah identified that he was doing the work of God and was despised for it.

What is key here is God’s response to Jeremiah ;

Therefore thus says the LORD: “If you return, I will restore you, and you shall stand before me. If you utter what is precious, and not what is worthless, you shall be as my mouth. They shall turn to you, but you shall not turn to them. And I make you to this people a fortified wall of bronze; they will fight against you, but they shall not prevail over you, for I am with you to save you and deliver you, declares the LORD. I will deliver you out of the hand of the wicked, and redeem you from the grasp o the ruthless.”

 

Jer15:19 -21ESVBible

 

Mr Sorge observes that Jeremiah doesn’t actually experience this reward in his life time. Hence why we are not to consider ourselves when we serve, but the future of humanity and the will of God. Earthly rejection, properly embraced, is an opportunity to gain heavenly treasure states Mr Sorge.

God chooses us and refines us, but the rewards are so great that he gives us in return.

He further states that rejection is one of God’s speciality tools for maturing his chosen ones.

God used rejection to shape Job’s character. The rejection Job received from his family and his friends Mr Sorge states, was designed by God to bring him forward into effective spiritual fatherhood.

 

The rejection of David include the following:

  • Samuel comes to anoint one of Jesse’s sons. Jesse calls all his sons except David.
  • His brother Eliab rejects him on the battlefield when his father sends him to find his brothers;
  • Saul tried to kill him repeatedly;
  • his wife Michal despised him in her heart;
  • Two of his sons Absalom and Adonijah rejected him;

So how did David handled his rejection? By residing to the secret place and embracing the acceptance of God;

 

Entrée

John 5:44

How can you believe, when you receive glory from one another and do not seek the glory that comes from the only God?

ESV Bible

Jesus was rejected, even though he was perfect.

  • Rejection is allowed by God to accomplish something profound in our soul and spirit.

  • Real source of Healing is a process that takes years

  • the first real step is to embrace the fact that God loves you.

  • There is the isse of the snare of Man’s Praise.

  • Rejection and Praise are opposites of the same continuum, with identical root issues.

  • We are not to seek out the praise of man actively John 5:44

    What are we to infer from this, that rejection is normal it is a part of life and it is a part of life orchestrated by God to refine us? That seems plausible enough to believe. Rejection is painful and needs healing and the first fundamental thing we need to accept is the love of God which surpasses all understanding and is a vital element in the healing process. Finally, we are not to be reliant upon man’s praise of our efforts for us to feel right about decisions we make, but to consider whether God will praise us for what we have done. It is towards that we should be working. So at the end of our spiritual journey in this life on earth when we stand before him we can be assured that he will say well done my good and faithful servant. Mr Sorge states that rejection and praise are two opposites of the same continuum with identical root issues. It reminds me of something I once read by a very famous self help author who illustrated a point about pain and pleasure by drawing a line. At one end there was pain and at the other end pleasure. Can you imagine being controlled by what your fellow man thinks of you it would control whether you receive pain or pleasure, why not just let every experience be a pleasurable one good or bad. Court the thoughts that support.

 

Dessert

Acts 5:29

But Peter and the apostles answered, “We must obey God rather than men.

ESV Bible

We ought to obey God rather than men Acts 5:29

If you seek the praise of men, they’ll praise you today and prosecute you tomorrow.

This reiterates the point of how fickle man can be with his praises, some not having any basis whatsoever. Therefore why do we give it so much credence?

 

Petit Fours

Matthew 4:4

But he answered, “It is written, “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.”

 

ESV BIble 

I challenge you to check your emotions, what or who influences the way you feel? Evaluate the significance of the praises you receive and who is it from? Establish how you are going to live to seek the praise of God the Father daily? I look forward to your comments so hit the button below this blog and give me your feedback.

 

 

Angela D. Martin

 

Founder, Vine Ministry UK